Rediscovering magic of cinema
Nestled in the heart of New Zealand’s movie-making capital, Miramar, Wellington, The Roxy Cinema is one of the city’s leading attractions.
Quite simply, The Roxy has brought back the romance and magic of cinema to New Zealand.
The Roxy Cinema opened its doors on 1 April 2011 after an extensive $6 million rebuild. The cinema began life as The Capitol Theatre in 1928, before being converted into a shopping mall, Capitol Court, in the late 1960s.
In its new guise as The Roxy Cinema the complex now houses two luxurious state-of-the-art cinemas, the 60-seat licensed Coco at the Roxy restaurant and café (with stunning interior features created by the extraordinary team at Weta Workshop).
The Roxy Cinema complex has received accolades internationally for its authentic Art Deco design, and incredible sculptures and artworks that showcase Weta Workshop talent. It won a Gold Award at the New Zealand Commercial Project Awards 2013.
The Roxy Cinema has won over visitors from around the world and recently won the prestigious “Best Cinema in New Zealand Award” by the Australian Independent Distributors’ Association (AIDA) at the 68th Australian International Movie Convention 2013.
The Roxy Cinema is co-owned by some of Wellington’s most dynamic and creative residents: Oscar-winning editor Jamie Selkirk and wife Ann, Weta Workshop founders Tania Rodger and Sir Richard Taylor, local foodies Valentina and Daminda Dias, cinephiles Tim Alexander and Jo-Anne Lundon, and cocktail connoisseurs Jonny and Justin McKenzie. All are passionate about film, food, and Wellington!
The Roxy Cinema is open seven days a week from 9am to late.
It is open all year round (only shutting for Christmas Day) and doesn’t charge public holiday surcharges.
The CAPITOL Theatre was purpose built in 1928 to screen silent films. In 1932 the cinema was converted to screen 'talkies' making it the last theatre in Wellington to do so. The cinema operated throughout the 30s through to the early 60s, with the last film being screened in 1964. The building was then converted to the CAPITOL Court, a shopping mall with a variety of small businesses operating. It sat idle for sometime before the Camperdown Studios group purchased it with thoughts to restore and revive it as a community cinema. Unfortunately for locals, a few movies like the Lord of the Rings trilogy got in the way of this project and it was shelved for a while. Eventually, the group got together and over many years (architects drawings were being pawed over as early as 2006) the project got under way and to the delight of the owners, locals and visitors alike, the Roxy opened it doors for business on 1 April 2011 (with the cinemas being opened on 7 April 2011).